#nopoo one month on

Standard

It’s been a month since my last post about going #nopoo.

The facebook NoPoo group is brilliant with lots of really helpful group files which explain and link to all the different methods of #nopoo (and #lopoo), trouble shooting, advice and photos.

I decided that the bicarb washes weren’t really working for me, mostly it seems because we are in a hard water area. It was increasing the waxiness in the texture (although it looked ok, it felt yucky) and was drying out the ends even with the vinegar rinse. So after a bit of research and two (homemade) apple sauce masks to reduce the waxiness I tried an egg wash. Oh my word, this was quite something. It didn’t help that our shower hose was on it’s last legs and I knew I had to rinse with cold water. However with the hose falling apart it would only do ice cold water, which gave me brain freeze for about 2 hours after. Despite this, it was amazing. I just mixed two eggs (could have done one) with a little water and applied it to dry hair. I rubbed it into the scalp and massaged it to the ends and left it for about 5 minutes. It was a very messy process! Then I just rinsed it carefully with cold water. I didn’t follow it with a rinse and my hair was beautifully soft for a few days after.

Egg washes aren’t to be used too often as the protein can affect your hair texture, so I’ve not done another since. However, I’d heard the virtues of rye flour being discussed and as it turns out to be readily available in the baking aisle, I thought I’d try it as a wash. It’s best to at least sieve it first as it’s a very “bitty” flour, and even then you need to carefully brush out your hair afterwards as it ends up with lots of flakes in. I might try steeping the flour in a tea strainer or muslin in the future  and just use the “milk” from it as I often wash and then go straight out so it’s hard to sit there and brush the bits out. However it’s a lovely “wash”- leaving my hair feeling very nice. I tend to follow it with a cide vinegar rinse to moisurise. I’m trying to wash with rye flour once a week and then just use a rinse inbetween. This seems to be working as 2 months in my hair is starting to feel wonderful. It still looks a bit greasy on inbetween days, but it’s definitely much better.

I also had a go at “plopping” (ridiculous name) which involves wrapping your hair in a tshirtafter a wash and it helps your natural curl by reducing frizz and lifting at the roots. I’m not sure it worked for me, though if I did it again I’d use some kind of coconut oil or aloe vera to help my hair hold the curl!

All a bit of a fun experiment. It’s interesting how much of life is mind over matter (I’ve noticed this in a few areas recently). Because I’m trialling #nopoo, I don’t mind if my hair looks totally crap. I’ll try to make it look nice but if it doesn’t I’m resigned to it. However, pre #nopoo I would get quite stressed if my hair looked awful! I guess I know I’m doing something nice for my hair, taking away them chemicals and reducing the number of times a week/month I wash it and agitate it, meaning that I’m giving it lots of lovely natural products and giving it a bit of a break.

I guess in the long run, this will ideally be a way of cutting down time spent washing my hair. I’ve got a fun toddler to be hanging around with and I want to enjoy more of his company!

Leave a Reply

