Nopoo

Standard

Been meaning to post about this for a while! Need to find a use for my night feeds.

For no real for reason at all (though there are plenty of great reasons to do it), I’ve decided to attempt to go #nopoo I.e shampoo free. Reducing unnatural chemicals which build up the hair causing the overstimulation of oil glands, hence ‘needing’ to wash one’s hair every other day (more if exercising)!

I’ve read a lot about it and there a plethora of information on the web -like most subjects, some more helpful than others.

I’ve gone for the most simple though potentially slow method of bicarb ‘washes’ with Apple cider vinegar ‘conditioner’ to balance the pH. I’m doing this about twice a week at the moment with water washes when needed.

My hair has taken it… OK. It had an identity crisis early on in week 2 when it decided I had huge bouncing curls for one evening. I’ve not been through any awful greasy stage though I’m currently experiencing a waxiness that is likely due to us being in a hard water area. So this evening I made a cooked Apple puree that nopoo-ers call Applesauce which I cling filmed to my head for half an hour before washing out.

My new hair texture means that it takes approximately forever to dry now so waiting to see if my first Apple saucing has worked! In busy trying not to get sucked in to buying a squillion ‘natural’ products to try to find the perfect balance for my hair- much happier with store cupboard contents!

Here is a short photo  journey of the last almost-four-weeks!

image

Stating to look wild in week one

image

Nutty curls that sprang up one evening

image

Week two, bit lank

image

Crazy volume during week two

image

Looking a bit dry

image

After a vinegar ph balance

image

End of week three

image

Today at 25 days in

Let’s see where it goes next!

Leave a Reply

