Lemons

Standard

One thing that really frustrates me is the “elite club of being a parent”. It’s entirely possible that I will change my mind in a few weeks when baby D arrives, but I will be trying my hardest not to be come a bitter, scoffing I-know-best-because-I’m-a-mummy kind of person. I’m imagine you have to be a certain kind of person to start with to turn out like that, but there seems to be more of them in the parenting world than anywhere else.

To give an example that’s been getting on my nerves recently- I’ve been trying to write a list of things that I can possibly do when I’m on maternity leave. This is not me naively thinking that I’ve got 3 weeks at full energy and health to redesign the garden, move furniture and get a six-pack in 21 days…. it’s a list of ideas to keep me ticking over when I feel bored.

I get bored easily. I am an active person who enjoys fresh air, exercise, learning something new, photography, cooking, seeing friends and generally being busy.

A usual week pre pregnancy would have involved a full working week (37.5 ish hours, plus a lot of travel and commute time), cycling for between 1-6 hours for leisure/commute etc, walking for a couple of hours, a yoga class, dinner out with friends, a.n.other hobby etc etc. I’m not a “slouch in front of a DVD box set” kind of person, though I enjoy a bit of telly or a film at the weekends.

So it’s clear that my maternity leave is not going to involve me taking long leisurely showers and watching daytime tv!

It doesn’t matter how many times I insist that “doing nothing” is not for me, someone always tried to tell me that I should just spend my maternity leave watching telly and sleeping.

This only adds insult to injury because I’m not sleeping very well at all (as per my last post).

My maternity can do list currently looks like this:

1. Hypnobirthing CD
2. Library
3. Swim/walk/cycle/yoga
4. Paint touch up
5. Cook & Freeze post-baby-arrival food
6. Photography
7. Learn something
8. Art
9. Bump & Babies groups
10 .Pack second hospital bag (Extra clothes etc depending on how long I’m in)
11. Work out how to use Angelcare Monitor

Some other good suggestions have been to sort out paperwork and finances, pre-ordering online shopping, pre-planning birthday gifts and Christmas gifts.

These are all things that I can do if I fancy- but all the key pre-baby jobs are done. If I do fancy sleeping and watching telly… I don’t need to plan for that I’m sure it will just happen!

Leave a Reply

