fighting my curiosity

Standard

Today I am working at home (I’m taking a break for a blog post as I started rather early this morning….).

Today signifies day 1 of The Kitchen. We’ve spent the last week packing up our kitchen utensils into boxes and having increasingly larger supplies of stuff delivered (floor/cooker/units) and I believe we now have 74 boxes in our living room containing parts of kitchen units, plus all the other bits like microwave, dishwasher, oven, flooring and worksurfaces. All the things from inside the old units are in boxes on a tarpaulin in the garden, covered by a dodgy gazebo.

The cat is quite seriously discombobulated. So I am. I got up early this morning as I “thought I heard a skip” arriving, and was unable to go back to sleep. So I had an early and productive start to my working day. I now have two workmen gently unscrewing and bashing the hell out of things. I made them a cuppa (no, not to go and be curious….) to find all the doors off, three units out and a huge chunk of worksurface out. Very impressed with their speed. The stereo has gone on, the cat is under their feet and they seem to be happy. The husband is making a stop-motion film of the kitchen job (using a webcam and a low powered computer to take a picture every 10 seconds for the whole day today to see if it works). Should be really cool to see how it all works. Best bit is seeing just what a terrible job has been done in the first place of our kitchen. The walls are either bare behind the cupboards (with no backs on the cupboards) or sporting some horrible 70’s and 80’s wallpaper…. it’s just horrible. Although we will likely have to paint around the cupboards, at least the walls will be finished and nice behind the units.


I’d like to apologise to Baby D, as it’s room is currently being used as storage.

As is the garden. And the lounge. Help me!

We’ve never done anything like this before, so it’s a new and scary experience!

Leave a Reply

