A more serious topic

Standard

(copied from my personal journal)

Apart from the kitchen, the other thing I’m feeling stressed about is the discussion about new vs secondhand mattresses for baby stuff. I’ve never really thought too hard about these things- as I’m generally happy with second hand things for… everything really. If things are clean and smell nice and are in good condition, I’m happy about them.

I’ve noticed other mums-to-be being very obsessed with new things on the whole, so I’ve usually ignored it as they’re clearly just different people to me, but the discussion about new mattresses for cots and moses baskets is confusing me. Someone linked me to this study on BMJ about increased risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome with previously used matresses. Part of the problem is that this study shows increased risk of SIDS with a second hand mattress, but no cause and effect. This appears to be due to other factors i.e socio-economic. I guess that it’s likely that those more likely to be using second hand mattresses are from more deprived areas and will be more likely to be affected by a number of other factors (poor health/information/smoking etc) which are hard to seperate out in real life studies like this.

We’ve got a second hand cot and moses basket, with second hand mattresses. We’ve cleaned everything we can, but I don’t know what to do. I know the home they’ve come from. They’re clean and in great condition and I’m loathe to throw them away and buy new ones, seems so pointless. The worst thing about being a parent (or parent to be) is other people’s neurosis and fear and pressure that gets put onto you and with conflicting information that changes every 5 seconds, it’s hard to make your way through the information to make informed, sensible choices. Hard work 😦

One response »

  1. Wondering if research has ever been done to link SIDS to a baby’s inability to automatically open their mouth to breathe when their nose is stuffy? I really do not ever see any material informing mothers of this fact either. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

