Evening!

Standard

To mirror the last post- good evening!

My biggest achievement so far today is still being up right now- at a whopping 9:07pm. Doesn’t sound particularly impressive but I’m so busy working my way through all the symptoms in the book, I’m too tired. And in fact too tired to sleep some nights, which is awesomely fun! I’m starting to sympathise with babies that scream and cry whilst their parents, pulling out their hair, are (internally) yelling “Go to sleep! You’re tired, that’s why you’re crying!”

This evening I have:

-washed up (from last night- slobs!)

-eaten the yummy home made dinner (husband made last night and re-heated tonight)

-nibbled on a yoghurt to try to ease the queasy-ness

-had a hot bath

Now, that’s the height of an exciting life-style eh?

I am trying extremely hard not to complain as I know there are thousands of women out there who would desperately love the security of feeling pregnancy symptoms. And therein lies the “Elephant in the Room” (what a cringeworthy phrase)- the possible problems with pregnancy.

Each conversation about the future has to start with the caveat “Providing all goes well…”. Each thought about our plans for the next 8 months has to come with a level headed attitude towards the realistic (if small) possibility that something can go wrong, and it’s important to be well informed.

One of the first things we did at almost-5-weeks-pregnant was to Buy A Book. I got lost in Waterstones Pregnancy department and the husband found me surrounded by books. We struck off any that “didn’t have pictures” or were “to hippy” and I ende dup left with “Zita Wests “Your Pregnancy Companion”.

I’m not 100% sure if it was actually the *best* book I could buy- I bought it in a bit of a panic, filled with worry that we’d see someone we knew in the book shop and they’d find out our secret. It makes a worryingly large number of references to homeopathy– but I suppose if there’s any time a person might turn to alternative medicine, it will likely be when they’re unable to take conventional drugs due to the risks to the foetus. It’s still absolute bunk, but I can skip those bits. Obviously there’s lots of reference to health and yoga and some meditation which I can handle!

To ensure the husband didn’t feel left out, we bought him Pregnancy for Men: The whole 9 months.

Now *this* is a book! It’s hillarious, silly, serious, informative and totally readable. Once I’d skim read all 380 pages (yes really) of my slightly boring and clinical tome, I nicked this one from him. It’s a very good read, and I’d recommend  all dads-to-be to get hold of a copy (if not just so that the mums-to-be can read it too!).

We now feel pretty clued up on at least the first trimester and know what we can possibly expect- the good the bad and the ugly.

Leave a Reply

